“The kids today have no…,” has been the first words in various sentences¬†far too often in my lifetime. I, too, am guilty of this…

But never again will I say this…I had an eye-opening experience this weekend, thanks to a couple of Scouts and their fathers that I met outside Lowes in Wilkes-Barre, PA.

Boy Scouts 1Meet Logan (to my right) and Jack (to my left). Hope you boys learn a little something from Nick & Billy! May your lives always be full of adventure!

MY OBSERVATIONS

The first observations I want to make are directed to the fathers, who were out there helping their sons earn money for this great organization. I didn’t say this, perhaps I should have, but you two deserve a big congrats for standing beside your boys and teaching them how to become great men! It’s not easy in this day and age but you are proof that it can be done. You were an inspiration to me and hopefully to everyone else that had the pleasure of meeting you guys this day!

Now, on to the future of this great nation: Logan was very proud to share with me that he will be an official Boy Scout next month. My impression of him is that he will be a leader. He had no problem voicing his thoughts and intentions to me. I believe that as Logan grows older and adds experience to his life he will use this knowledge to help others and be very effective at it. He is friendly, very sociable, and carries an aura about him that thirsts for adventure.

Jack, on the other hand, seems to be a person of few words. He is a Webelos (I sincerely hope I am getting this rank correct guys!) Scout. He might be shy, as I was at his age, but make no mistake! Those eyes are very observant and taking in everything. He seems to be an observer, perhaps a scholar. There is a bright mind in his little noggin that is taking in all that his eyes show him. I couldn’t help but get the impression that one day he will become a problem solver in whatever field or path he decides to take. And of course, because he is a scout in reality and heart, he too, thirst for adventure!

As I was driving away from Lowes that morning I couldn’t help but recall the days of my youth when I would over hear old timers making comments that started with, “The Kids today have no….” These boys helped me to remember that this hurtful line is not new, but has probably been repeated for centuries. With guidance, children become great adults. It’s as simple as that.

As I write this post I am chewing on some caramel popcorn that I bought from them. No surprise…it’s the best dad-gum caramel popcorn that I’ve ever eaten! Geez, why cant Orville Redenbacher make it taste this good! Okay, I’m getting side-tracked – food always does that to me! As a former scout, I remember the challenges these boys are given. It’s not all fun and games. It’s about learning skills and becoming a better person. It makes a youngster WANT to become a better person. The Boy Scouts of America would not exist if it weren’t for people like these fathers I met and donations. I would like to ask that you make a $5 donation to this fantastic organization by simply clicking here.

And I would like to also ask that when you see these youngsters standing outside a store trying to raise money help them out. These are good kids that are trying to make this world a better place. Please show them how much they, and their beliefs, are appreciated!

THANK YOU LOGAN AND JACK!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

